Friday, September 18, 2020

Review: Unicorns are the Worst! by Alex Willan

 Glittery, happy, gleeful unicorns! My own daughter still loves llamas, but these mystical creatures have taken over the shelves and hearts everywhere, it seems. So, when I saw this title, I knew I had to get my hands on it. 

Shh....(plus, the cover is glittery and sparkly and oh-so pretty! But we're not going to talk about that).



UNICORNS ARE THE WORST!
by Alex Willan
Simon & Schuster
Picture Book
ages 4 to 8


COMING...
SEPTEMBER 29th!!!





Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great, this wildly funny and imaginative picture book celebrates the value of differences as a grumpy goblin gets to know his new unicorn neighbors.

It’s an undeniable fact that unicorns are the worst!

Magic is serious business, but all unicorns do is frolic around, have tea parties, and leave glitter all over the place! They’re nothing like goblins—practical and hard-working, who can put magic to good use! Unicorns aren’t helpful at all.

Or are they?

     



MY TIDBITS

With well founded, well grounded, and laid out facts, this little goblin tears apart all of the wonderful-ness that supposedly makes unicorns so special. And maybe not.

Between the glittery cover and the title (that so many of us will smirk at), this one demands attention and delivers with humorous finesse...or stumbles. The main character in these pages is a small, little, and surprisingly lovable goblin. He's hard-working, so determined, and not even mean in the slightest bit. His arguments ring true and that makes him easy to sympathize with. Even unicorn lovers can't totally ignore what he states. But this book is also more than that.

I enjoyed the fun in this one. It's not only arguments but quickly slides into an exciting and giggle worthy adventure. The illustrations and text work hand-in-hand to create a very lively tale, which definitely demands attention from unicorn lovers, haters and in-differents alike. This is one of those books to grab up and use as a read-aloud and know kids will listen. But then, with this cast of fun creatures, that's kind of a given. 


And here he is...

Alex Willan grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, where he was seldom seen without his sketchbook in hand. His love of drawing led him to earn a BFA in illustration from Savannah College of Art and Design. Alex has exhibited in art galleries and has painted murals, theater sets, and squirmy kids' faces, but his true love has always been children's books. He lives in Chicago with his dog, Harley. Visit him online at AlexWillan.Com

No comments:

Post a Comment